COST meeting

First annual workshop for the COST action CA18222 | September 9-11, 2020 | Organized On-line

Local organizer

Faculty of Physics, Babeș-Bolyai University

The technical elements of the 1st Annual Workshop & Joint WG meeting of CA18222 COST Action will be run by Brightelm.

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. Ladislau Nagy | Dr. Katalin Kovács | Dr. Ferenc Járai-Szabó | Dr. Sándor Borbély | Dr. Katalin Nagy-Póra | Dr. István Tóth

Action web page


questions about COST rules:

questions to local organizers:

questions to Brightelm:

Confirmed speakers

The speaker list will be updated according to the new confirmations.

 Kasra Amini, The Institute of Photonic Sciences (ES)
 Luca Argenti, University of Central Florida (US)
 Attila Bende, National Institute for Research and Development of Isotopic and Molecular Technologies (RO)
 Shubhadeep Biswas, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich &Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (DE)
 Andrew Brown, CTAMOP, Queen's University of Belfast (UK)
 Francesca Calegari, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (DE)
 Alberto Castro, Instituto de Biocomputación y Física de Sistemas Complejos (ES)
 Laura Cattaneo, ETH Zürich (CH)
 Sonia Coriani, Technical University of Denmark (DK)
 Nirit Dudovich, Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)
 Alexandra Falamas, National Institute for Research and Development of Isotopic and Molecular Technologies (RO)
 Václav Hanus, Wigner Research Centre for Physics (HU)
 Oleg Kornilov, Max Born Institute (DE)
 Jochen Küpper, CFEL, Hamburg (DE)
 Franck Lépine, ILM-CNRS - Univ. Lyon (FR)
 Matteo Lucchini, Politecnico di Milano (IT)
 Lars Bojer Madsen, Aarhus University (DK)
 Erik Månsson, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (DE)
 Csaba Janáky, ELI-HU, Scientific Applications Division (HU)
 Jon Marangos, Imperial College London (UK)
 Federico Marchesin, Simune Atomistics (ES)
 Fernando Martín, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (ES)
 Zdenek Masin, Charles University (CZ)
 Johan Mauritson, University of Lund (SWE)
 Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Scientific Lasers GmbH + Co. KG (DE)
 Aleksandar Milosavljević, Synchrotron Soleil (FR)
 Ladislau Nagy, Babes-Bolyai University (RO)
 Thomas Pfeifer, Max Planck Institute (DE)
 Aurora Ponzi, Ruđer Bošković Institute (HR)
 Francoise Remacle, University of Liege (BE)
 Nina Rohringer, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY (DE)
 Marco Ruberti, Imperial College London (UK)
 Giuseppe Sansone, Albert-Ludwigs-University (DE)
 Józef E. Sienkiewicz, Politechnika Gdańska (PL)
 Olga Smirnova, Max-Born Institute (DE)
 Morgane Vacher, Université de Nantes (FR)
 Agnes Vibok, University of Debrecen (HU)
 Caterina Vozzi, National Research Council - Intituto di Fononica e Nanotecnologie (IT)
 Hans Jakob Wörner, Laboratory of Physical Chemistry, ETH (CH)

Important dates

  Registration and abstract submission starts at July 8, 2020

  Registration, abstract submission deadline: July 31, 2020

  Notification of acceptance and decisions: August 7, 2020

  Proceedings article submission deadline: August 7, 2020


September 9

0830 Opening

Chair: E. Lindroth

0900 F. Martin

0940 C. Vozzi

1020 F. Lépine

1100 Coffee

Chair: Á. Vibók

1130 F. Calegari

1210 L. Nagy

1240 N. Dudovich

1310 M. Vacher

1340 Lunch

Chair: I. Brezinova

1510 O. Smirnova

1550 T. Pfeifer

1630 L. B. Madsen

1700 Á. Vibók

Poster Session

September 10


Chair: F. Martin

0900 L. Cattaneo

0940 H. J. Wörner

1020 J. Marangos

1100 Coffee

Chair: V. Petrovic

1130 A. Brown

1200 M. Lucchini

1230 M. Ruberti

1300 A. Bende

1330 Lunch

Chair: L. Cattaneo

1510 F. Remacle

1550 C. Janaky

1620 K. Amini

1650 J. Küpper

Poster Session

September 11


Chair: F. Lépine

0900 J. Mauritsson

0940 G. Sansone

1020 N. Rohringer

1100 Coffee

WG1 | Chair: C. Vozzi

WG2 | Chair: L. Nagy

1130 A. Milosavljevic

1130 A Castro

1200 A. Falamas

1200 A. Ponzi

1230E. Mansson

1230 Z. Masin

1300 T. Metzger

1300 F. Marchesin

1330 Lunch

WG1 | Chair: R. Borrego Varillas

WG2 | Chair: K. Kovács

1510 O. Kornilov

1510 J.E. Sienkiewicz

1540 S. Biswas

1540 S. Coriani

1610 V. Hanus

1610 A. Palacios

All times are in CET.

Book of abstracts

» download the Book of abstracts

Technical details

Login information to access the online platforms for scientific sessions and e-poster presentations will be sent one week prior to the event. Speakers and poster presenters will be directly instructed by Brightelm external company on the use of this online platforms.

All sessions will be recorded and will be available online after the meeting.

E-posters platform will allow building an online interactive version of the poster using PDF, video, images, graphics and surveys.

System requirements

  • An internet connection – broadband wired (preferred) or wireless
  • Speakers and a microphone
  • Webcam, or HD webcam – built in or USB plug-in
  • Bandwidth – minimum 1.5 Mbps up and down


For late registrations you can access the registration form at the Brightelm conference organiser website.


The conference proceedings will be published in Studia Physica, journal published by the Babeș-Bolyai University. All speakers and contributors to the poster session are encouraged to write a paper for the proceedings.

The manuscripts should be prepared using the LaTex or MSWord templates. Please convert your manuscript to PDF format and upload it through the conference maniscript submission form below.

Deadline for submitting the paper: August 7, 2020

Proceedings manuscript submission closed.